term prospects of the Canadian economy; the said Walter Lockhart Gordon to be Chairman of the Commission and Douglas V. LePan to be Secretary and Director of Research. July 28, J. D. McLeod, Chief, Water Resources Division, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources: to represent Canada on the Lake Memphremagog Board and on the International St. Mary-Milk Rivers Board of Control, vice T. M. Patterson. J. E. Hickey and John J. Whelan: to be Members of the St. John's Harbour and Pilotage Commission, vice Captain M. G. Dalton, resigned, and Captain N. S. Halfyard, deceased. Sept. 1, His Honour William Loyola Whelan: to be Commissioner per dedimus potestatem to administer the Oath of Allegiance and other Oaths to the Administrator of the Government of the Province of Newfoundland for the period Sept. 1, to Sept. 30, 1955. Sept. 16, Corporal Edward Everett James and Corporal Alexander Romenco, employees of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Crime Detection Laboratory at Regina, Sask.: to be duly qualified analysts for the purposes of the Opium and Narcotic Drug Act, effective Aug. 10, 1955. Oct. 19, Hon. John Babbitt McNair, Chief Justice of New Brunswick: to be during pleasure the Administrator of the Government of the Province of New Brunswick whenever the Lieutenant-Governor, Hon. D. L. MacLaren, is unable to execute his office and functions by reason of absence, illness or other inability. Forbes MacNeill, Q.C., Clerk of the Senate: to be a Commissioner to administer to persons called to the Senate of Canada as Members thereof, the Oath of Allegiance and also the Declaration of Qualification. George A. Rogers, an officer of the Department of Justice: to be a Commissioner to administer oaths and to take and receive affidavits, declarations and affirmations in Canada for the Supreme Court of Canada and for the Exchequer Court of Canada. Nov. 16, Capt. R. J. Randell: to be Harbour Master at St. John's, Nfld., effective Sept. 16, 1954, vice Captain N. S. Halfyard, deceased. Dec. 2, Robert MacLaren Fowler, Edmond Turcotte, Canadian Ambassador to Colombia, and James Stewart: to be Commissioners under Part I of the Inquiries Act to enquire into the subject of radio and television broadcasting in Canada, Mr. Robert MacLaren Fowler to be Chairman of the Commission. Dec. 7, Alan Lewis Brown, C.A.: to be an Assistant Commissioner of Penitentiaries, effective Dec. 15, 1955. 1956. Mar. 15, Captain David Bennett Stampton, Examiner of Masters and Mates, Department of Transport: to be Harbour Master at St. John's, Nfld., vice Captain R. J. Randell. Apr. 26, Dr. T. M. Dauphinée, of the Division of Physics, Dr. R. D. Heyding, of the Division of Applied Chemistry, National Research Council, and W. R. Inman, of the Mines Branch, Department of Mines and Technical Surveys: to be Assay Commissioners to examine and test coins of the currency of Canada struck at the Royal Canadian Mint during the year 1955. June 14, H. B. McKinnon, Chairman of the Tariff Board, and J. C. Leslie, Secretary of the Tariff Board: to be Commissioners to administer oaths and to take and receive affidavits. Francis Seems: to be Inspector of Ships' Tackle at the Port of Dalhousie, N.B. Thomas W. Christie: to be a Member of the New Westminster Pilotage Authority for the period of one year, vice William Gifford, resigned.

Yukon Territory.—1955. June 8, Frederick Howard Collins: to be Commissioner, vice Wilfrid George Brown, effective June 15, 1955. July 7, Frank Gramani Smith, Barrister-at-Law: to be Registrar of the Yukon Land Registration District, vice Wilfrid George Brown. Oct. 7, Frank Herbert Murphy: to be Deputy Registrar of the Yukon Land Registration District.